About Us - College Board

The Riverina Anglican College developed as part of the New Schools policy of the Anglican Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn.

An Organising Committee for an Anglican School in Wagga was in operation since the early 1990s with a College Board being formed in 1998. 

Membership of the College Board is currently being updated. 

The functions of the Board include oversight of the College’s financial arrangements, the appointment of the Principal, the maintenance of a business plan and all things necessary for the conduct of the affairs of the College. The day to day operations of the College, including the appointment of staff, curriculum and programming, school discipline and other matters are the responsibility of the Principal who reports to the Board. The normal term of office for a Board member is three years.

The College was established under the Diocesan Schools Ordinance (1998) of the Anglican Diocese of Canberra and Goulburn. This Ordinance provides the model of governance as well as setting out both the goals and principles for the College. As a Diocesan school, the College is ultimately responsible to the Governing Body of the Diocese known as Bishop-in-Council. Bishop-in-Council comprises the Bishop of the Diocese with twelve to fifteen elected or appointed members. Bishop-in-Council has delegated oversight of Diocesan schools to an advisory committee known as The Diocesan Schools Council. The different Board of each of the Diocesan schools including The Riverina Anglican College, reports on a regular basis to the Diocesan Schools Council. The College is governed by a Board that is comprised of Chair and Deputy Chair appointed by the Diocese, the Principal of the College, the Regional Bishop, and up to five persons appointed by the Diocesan Schools Council. The ambition of the Diocesan Schools Council is to appoint men and women who from their business background or training may make a positive contribution to the strategic planning and management of the school. Whenever possible this should include business managers, professionals such as accountants and solicitors and personnel with practical educational expertise.